The Cuttening Approachesth

24 Apr

It’s here!

image

I’m determined to spend some quality time in the backcountry this spring, so I’ve been piecing together my kit in preparation. This is merely the first in a series of outdoors-related posts guaranteed to bore the tits off my reader.  Sorry.  Let’s see what Daddy got!

image

The Becker Knife & Tool BK-2, made by KA-BAR.  “Oh, Jeff! It’s so big!”  Yeah, I get that a lot.  Actually, though,  the blade is only 5.25 inches, but the spine on the high-saber grind blade is a quarter inch thick.  It is an absolute handful of a knife.  One full pound of 1095 carbon steel, full tang with an exposed skull-crusher / hammer butt type pommel, making the overall length 10.25 inches. There is a lanyard hole, to ward off the forces of modernity.  I like that.  Plus, it’s a chopper. You don’t want this whizzing out of your hand and into your femoral artery when you’re miles from help.

The grip scales are a material KA-BAR calls “Grivory.” I assume it’s a portmanteau of “grip” and “ivory”, combining two lies in one convenient package.  I have large hands, and these scales are huge. And slick. I can only imagine how slippery they’ll get when wet.

Speaking of which, I’ll have to imagine, because fuck those scales.

image

Hmm, so add “hollow” to your list of sins, Grivory.   Not to worry.  I ordered you some new threads.

image

Nothing like a new pair of threads.  And these threads are custom canvas Micarta scales, made for Becker’s BK series of knives.  And how much did this fine new knife cost? Sixty-five bucks.  That’s it.  For a knife that will last forever with proper care.  Another forty for the scales, and you’re talking a semi-custom knife for a hundred bucks.  A knife that was shaving sharp with a few licks on a ceramic hone, and which can also split hardwood logs.  There isn’t a better deal out there for this size of survival/wilderness/bushcraft knife.  I’ve looked.  A LOT.

The next step is going to be beating the shit out if this blade and fucking up that obscenely thick powder-coat finish.  Once I’ve uglied it up nicely, I’ll strip that coating off and put a nice forced patina on. 

Expect to see some more posts and probably vids as I put together my pack and head up to the edge of Algonquin.

Mind you don’t cut yourself, Mordechai!

5 Responses to “The Cuttening Approachesth”

  1. EC April 25, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    Guns for show, knives for the pro!

    Going up to the north country are we, Jeff?

  2. Empire of Jeff April 25, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

    Yeah, there’s a ton of crown land between Huntsville and Algonquin park that I’ve been dying to hike into and explore. Lots of secluded lakes with no cabins on them for camping and de-stressing. No fees, no checking in at a gate and no trails to have to stick to.

    The hardest part has been finding where the federally owned land is, where the privately owned land is (to avoid it) and planning a route to access it that doesn’t involve crossing someone’s property or is easy to access by canoe. The harder it is to get to, A) the less people will go there and B) the more I like it.

    I don’t mind humping a heavy ruck for a few miles if it ensures some solitude.

  3. EC April 25, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    Cool! My family used to go up to Severn Falls near Muskoka but that’s probably not what you’re looking for.

  4. moerawn April 25, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    You should read Paulsen’s “Hatchet”. While written for young adults, it’s a veritable survival guide for the Canadian woods.

  5. EC May 1, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    Hey Jeff, I recommend spending some more time at the “gym” before your upcoming hike. You know, to get yourself ready. 🙂

Leave a Reply

